Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year!Prague-fireworks

I am delighted that 2014 has arrived. Recognizing that I have moved 5 times in the last 15 months which has encompassed 3 countries, 2 continents and multiple hormonal melt-downs, it is no wonder that 2013 seems like somewhat of a blur. I am not complaining. No Sir. I am grateful that I got out of hot, sweaty Tampa and have become a logistical and packing expert. We can all use a few more skills, right?

Since moving to Prague in September, I have traveled back to the States for Thanksgiving with family and friends, traveled to London to visit my son who is working there, hosted my mother for a 2 week birthday celebration, flew my mother back through London after she shattered her elbow while visiting (a story for another day) and enjoyed my other sons’ visit during Christmas week, all while trying to cram in the demoralizing act of Czech language study. The last 3 months of this year have been hectic to say the least, and the flim-flam excuse I am going to use for neglecting my blog.

These past few days, however, I have done a whole lot of nothing which has given me the sense of being finally settled for a while — something I have been so desperately craving after 4 years of long-distance commuting. Giving myself the benefit of the doubt, I will linger in this euphoria for a day or two longer before I yammer on about resolutions and bucket list failings from last year along with those that I have already broken this year.

In that vein, I hope you had a joyous holiday season and wish you a Šťastný Nový Rok (which I actually know how to pronounce)! May you have abundant love, health and happiness in the coming year, and be willing to make and break resolutions as I do. The truth is – sometimes it just feels so good to do so!Happy holidays!With much love and appreciation for following along with this Diplomat’s wife on her journey –

Wendy