Tags

, , , , , ,

This is Lexi filling in for my Mom again as she is too achy from our drive from Savannah yesterday, and too grumpy about being in Tampa to blog. I, however, have a lot to say about these last two days. She can go right on sipping her glass of wine, eating her chips and Talenti gourmet ice-cream that she has deemed too expensive to share with me — so elitist. Dad was not so picky yesterday eating rest-stop ice-cream.

I suppose I should empathize with her as I did not want to move any more than she did. I think her real problem though is that she feels guilty indulging herself over moving stresses which seem so petty compared to all of the unrest going on in the rest of the world. Her current personality disorder must be how she deals with the madness of it all.

Mom herself is going a bit mad. By the time we reached Orlando yesterday, I heard her make the following comment: “I am so looking forward to flying next week”. For those who know her, you will know how ridiculous this statement is. For those who don’t, I should tell you that despite all of the flying she does to be with me & my Diplomat dad — she has a pathological fear of it. Me – I have a pathological fear of thunderstorms. This isn’t boding too well for me as apparently Tampa will be my home for the next two years.

We arrived last night at dusk and were greeted by an amazing thing called a “rainbow” which I had never seen before.

It mesmerized and tricked me into thinking that this would be what the weather was like. Boy was I wrong. Today we were awakened by the loudest thunder ever. It was so strong that it penetrated the armor of my Thundershirt! There was lightning and wind so intense that it rained sideways. The weather forecast for the day wasn’t looking so great….

GUSTY WINDS 35 TO 45 MPH WILL OCCUR. FREQUENT LIGHTNING IS EXPECTED. TO BE SAFE GO INDOORS IMMEDIATELY. IF CAUGHT OUTSIDE… FIND A LOW SPOT… AND STAY AWAY FROM TALL OBJECTS. TORRENTIAL RAINS WILL REDUCE VISIBILITY TO NEAR ZERO AND WILL CAUSE PONDING OF WATER ON ROADWAYS

Really loud alarms keept sounding in the building. I hid in the closet and refused to go out to pee. Mom was all bent out of shape because she didn’t want me to have an accident AND she wanted to go shopping. Could she not see the danger?? I know that having food is important, but toilet paper?? I am not sure why she uses that stuff anyway – I don’t!

The movers came this afternoon to bring some our airfreight that we sent from Tijuana. Mom had been excited to get some of her belongings, but now she has a closet of wet, wrinkled clothes. Again – I am not sure why she needs that stuff. She should get herself a fur coat like me and be done with it, although it is kinda hot to wear in Tampa. Mom told Dad today that there is less heat, humidity & mosquitos in the Amazon. She spent the afternoon unpacking and complaining about her hair. She should just keep it short like mine.

Dad spent most of the day trying to console me while searching for his socks. He thinks they disappeared in the hotel room in Savannah. Why would someone want to steel HIS socks from his luggage? Have you ever seen his feet?? YUK! We managed to sneak in one walk between the storms so I at least got to check out a bit of the scenery. Lots of lizards — reminds me of my home in Tijuana.

My new home for the moment

This evening we went house hunting. Dad asked the lady at the house we were visiting if I could stay outside on the patio. She said “Sure, but I never go out there because of all of the bugs and snakes”. I thought that was really cool, but Mom said something unsavory, and I doubt we will be moving there if she has anything to do with it. You would think she would take anything after the fiasco last night. Our new landlord didn’t do his “readying-up” for us so well. Mom’s bed had pillow cases with blood spots on them and hairs on the sheets. I am not sure why all the fuss. She could have just cuddled up on the floor next to me.

Tonight I am settling in with my new friend Roxy that Mom bought me in Savannah. At least I have a new little buddy who is safe inside to comfort me. Mom’s new friend, the mailman, was not so lucky as he was was struck today by lightening right outside of our building. Tijuana was so much safer. Tomorrow we brave the weather to look at more houses. Yesterday’s departure from Savannah and the scary day today is now just a memory……..