My day started out sipping coffee in the Virginia mountains with Lexi at my feet, watching the mist slowly lift over the mountains, and thinking about our last leg home,  when my husband turns to me and says, “I think we should move here and buy a COW!” What????? “Yeah, fresh milk would taste great in our morning lattes”, he went on to say.

Dah-ling I love you but give me Park Avenue….

I did indulge farmer boy with a morning hike before leaving Fort Lewis Lodge and heading home to BALTIMORE. As I have mentioned previously, it has been a bit of a college tour along our route, so today we stopped at Kline’s Dairy which is an ice-cream “institution” right along side of James Madison University. You gotta love a place that not only has the real-deal, home-made soft serve, but that has dog-friendly portions with biscuits on top. Lexi was in heaven.

A treat for a wonderful traveling companion

Now if you have been following my blog, you will know that I have resisted every time Steve slammed on the brakes on a busy highway to take a “Welcome to Whatever State” picture. Today I was the brake slammer. I saw the “Welcome to Maryland” sign and did a little screeching myself.  I am not sure who was more excited – me or Lexi who realized we were standing in a field of hopping crickets. I had to be the one in this photo in any event.

We are home girlfriend!

This has been quite an adventure the last few weeks. Being a diplomatic wife has brought many surprises and uncertainty to my life. “Packing-out” and traveling cross-country 3200 miles with a street dog from our tour in Tijuana was certainly not something on my bucket list, but I must confess that I had the best time ever, and laughed more than I usually do. This trip opened my eyes to parts of the USA that I had only read about, and introduced me to some American culture that I would not otherwise have experienced. We left 2 of our children on the West Coast, arrived home to 2 more waiting for us and plan to visit the 5th in NY next week. For my colleagues that are paying attention – yeah, yeah, yeah – I plan on working too!

Being married to a Diplomat has really taught me that “HOME” is not where you rest your head, but with whom you rest it. I look forward to blogging from wherever my home is. Our next destination is the foreign country of……. TAMPA, FLORIDA (not your typical overseas assignment), but where Steve will be the foreign policy advisor to Admiral William McRaven of the US Special Forces. I can’t wait to fill you in as we get ready for our departure in September. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the photos from the last leg of this trip….