Vail in the summer is like sleep-away camp for adults but with much better food, so we had set our alarm early to take advantage of our extra day here. I had planned an 8 mile hike to Booth Creek Falls with a gourmet picnic lunch in tow, but only one of us was up for it and it was neither me nor Steve!! Diplo-dog was disappointed to learn that I pulled a muscle in my back getting out of bed (pitiful, I know), and Steve woke up with two swollen knees. Lexi had to settle for a shorter walk with her peeps as we hobbled through the flat Gore Valley Trail.

Later in the day after Advil, ice and a nap, we ventured out again 3 whole blocks (my limit at this point) to Loaded Joe’s which is a hole-in-the-wall place tucked under the covered bridge in Vail Village. I am a coffee snob and I must say they make some of the best artisan lattes that I have ever tasted — Highly recommend. Lexi made a new friend along the way and stumbled upon the most fascinating car.

Lexi’s new friend – the smart, but quiet type

I had to do a double-take. The entire car (except tires) is constructed of Legos

Tomorrow’s agenda?? – More Advil, and a 7 hour drive to North Platte, NE!